The CFWA is a Board made up of either Direcetors who are voted in at the AGM. Directors are granted two year terms with five members up for election each year. The following Members have been voted in by affiliated CFWA Leagues.

Melody Sulzberger (President)

Elected 2023 as a director, Mel has been involved in team sports from a very young age. Mel has been apart of the Western Border Football and Netball League and the Mid SE league in SA as well as the Horsham Football Netball League in Western Victoria playing various roles within AFL and Netball. Moving to WA in 2001, Mel got involved as a RDFA member and various roles for the Southerners Football Club along with being the Vice chair of the Great Southern Regional Board ,Junior Football age group coordinator then nominated as president president of SDJFA for 6 years. Once her son was drafted to Royals in the GSFL, she took up the volunteers coordinator and U16’s Team manager. Mel was nominated as President of Country Football WA in March 2024.

Andrew Lockyer (Vice President)

Andrew, appointed in January 2024, hails from Carnarvon and grew up in Northampton. He began his sporting journey playing football for his hometown team before seizing an opportunity to join the WAFL. Subsequently, he became an Original member of the West Coast Eagles. Over the span of 15 years, he transitioned into coaching, starting from Auskick all the way up to senior WAFL level and State 18s. His passion lies in coach education and nurturing player development. With four decades of experience under his belt, he aspires to channel his expertise into enhancing Country Football.

John Shadbolt 

Played approximately 200 league games for Mukinbudin Football Club as well as representing the Central Wheatbelt Football League on numerous occasions. John has held various administration positions with the Mukinbudin FC and Central Wheatbelt FL and is a Life Member of the Mukinbudin FC. John resides in Mukinbudin and became a Director in 2008. Awarded CFWA Life Membership in 2018, John was President for 5.5years and made a huge contribution to our restructure and new branding. 

Greg Baird 

Greg joined CFWA in 2017 and brings with him a wealth of experience from football in the Mortlock where he was a former President for five years. Greg has experience on the League Committee, and with the Goomalling FC, and has run a successful Agribusiness in the region. He has a passion for grass roots football due to the social impact it can have in regional communities.  

Curtis Guglielmana

Elected in 2023,Curtis was raised in both the Gascoyne and South-West Regions of WA and played 265 senior football games, 190 of these across the SWFL and CWFL country competitions, including playing representative footall and WA State Country. This was followed on by Senior coaching, playing and committee roles in the Perth Football League for 7 years. Curtis is the General Manager of a national health and human services organisation, with a keen interest to improve the impact, sustainability and overall health of the Country Football in WA, so that our communities may thrive sustainably into the future. 

Mark Blakely

Coming from being the Chairman of the South West Regional Football Development Council (SWRFDC), Mark has worked colaboritevly with the WAFC and Country Football for a number of year. An East Perth Royal League player, Mark has been involved in football for a number of years as not only as a player but a coach as well. Mark has filled a casual vanacy in 2024 and looks forward to developing Country Football on it's new path it is on. 


Dylan Panizza

Dylan joined the Board of Directors of Country Football WA in 2023 via election. As a devoted business owner, Dylan champions the positive impact of sports on communities. This commitment is evident through his sponsorship of country football teams across the Goldfields, Southwest, and Great Southern leagues. Bringing a wealth of experience to the table, Dylan has both played and coached football. He has also served as the president of a country football club for several years. Currently, he is enhancing his expertise by pursuing a Masters of Sports Coaching at the University of Sydney. Dylan’s diverse experiences and education enrich his contributions to the board.


Andy Henshaw

Elected as a Casual Vacancy in 2024, Andy has a passion for football, especially in the Kimberley. He has lived and coached football in remote aboriginal communites for a number of years, leading to developing and mentoring of players within the community. As the current Officer in Charge of Dampier Peninsula MFPF, Andy brings a wealth of knowledge of not only the Kimberley but how to grow our great game. 

Country Football WA - Directors (Last 10 Years)

2024 M Sulzberger, A Lockyer, J Shadbolt, G Baird, C Guglielmana, D Panizza, M Blakely, A Henshaw
2023 B Simpson, I Stanley, J Shadbolt, G Baird, H Ockerby, C Guglielmana, D Panizza, M Sulzberger
2022 J Shadbolt, C Cox, G Woodhams, I Stanley, G Baird, J Burton, B Tate, B Simpson, C Parkin, H Ockerby
2021 J Shadbolt, C Cox, G Woodhams, I Stanley, G Baird, J Burton, B Tate, B Simpson, C Parkin, H Ockerby
2020 N Miguel, J Shadbolt, C Cox, G Woodhams, I Stanley, G Baird, J Burton, B Tate, G Davis, B Simpson
2019 N Miguel, J Shadbolt, C Cox, G Woodhams, M Milloy, I Stanley, G Baird, J Burton, B Tate, G Davis
2018 N Miguel, J Shadbolt, C Cox, G Woodhams, T House, M Milloy, I Stanley, G Baird, J Burton, B Tate
2017 N Miguel, J Shadbolt, C Cox, G Woodhams, T House, M Milloy, I Stanley, G Baird, J Burton, B Tate
2016 N Miguel, J Shadbolts, C Cox, M Harding, T House, M Milloy, I Stanley, K Rowe, J Burton, B Tate
2015 N Miguel, C Cox, B Butterworth/B Tate, I Stanley, A Bishop/M Harding, J Shadbolt, K Rowe, T House, M Milloy, J Burton
2014 N Miguel, C Cox, B Butterworth, G Young, A Bishop, J Shadbolts, K Rowe, T House, M Milloy, P Sheridan
2013 N Miguel, C VanderWeide, B Butterworth, G Young, A Bishop, J Shadbolt, M Kain, T House, M Milloy, P Sheridan


Enter your e-mail and subscribe to WA Football newsletter.